“El senor del hielo” de C.A. Todorova (review)

• Titlul original: “El senor del hielo”

• Autor: C.A. Todorova

• Serie: “El principe heredero”

• Volum: III

• Editura: Circulo Rojo

• An apariție: 2023

• Număr pagini: 960

The action of volume three begins shortly after the end of volume two, the group formed finds itself forced to split up, some characters remain in Gea, while Jay, Caedra, Ayla, and Hadriel return to Earth on a new mission.

I liked that it didn’t waste time from the first pages, but rather plunged me into the heart of the matter, so to speak, which captivated me and made me read continuously for several minutes. The emphasis was also on the characters’ feelings, not just on the fast-paced action, and seeing them ‘strip down’ and confess their thoughts made me chuckle with joy, considering I was waiting for some confessions from the previous volume. The romantic in me is incurable, sees couples everywhere 🤣.

Characters who were in the background, for now, or mentioned casually, appeared and had a major impact on the story and the situations the characters found themselves in.

The characters have matured significantly since the first and second volumes, and this is clearly evident. Jay is more ‘mature,’ Caedra begins to trust herself and be more liberated in expression, Ayla, from a person limited in thought and actions, has transformed into an intelligent girl, always present for her new family, determined to become strong, not to be considered a disability, as she considers herself, and Alastair, well… he remains just as arrogant ☺️.

Although Jay had moments when I wanted to slap some sense into him, moments when he surprised me with his maturity. He had episodes when he behaved like a child and said stupid things, but at least he realized it wasn’t okay and apologized, even though the damage was already done… Jay, grow up already!!! Be a man!

At the first mention of Gavin in this volume, something struck me, wondering if he had been mentioned in previous volumes or not, as I had a vague impression of who he was, until it was confirmed that I remembered something, but I wasn’t sure. I was surprised by this character; he was caught between a rock and a hard place throughout the volume, and his actions were sometimes for, sometimes against, as if he himself wasn’t sure what he wanted to do until it became clear, completely surprising me and earning my appreciation, which I didn’t expect, considering the role he had at the beginning.

Leveann tested all my patience, he’s one of the most disagreeable, annoying, and cursed characters I’ve encountered in fiction, and every time he appeared, I felt my tension rise, I was like a thermometer under pressure, about to explode… Will this character ever disappear?

Cristina made sure to provide moments where my heart stopped with anxiety, shocked me, and made me pray that nothing bad would happen, otherwise, I think I would have lost it. And, to be honest, I really lost it a few times… What amused me was that, even in moments tense and critical, the characters didn’t give up sarcasm and irony, although danger threatened them at every moment. Other thing that I loved where the dialogue between Gavin and Valikia, oh my! How I giggled and laughed! Can’t wait to see more of them in the last volume!

Shall I tell you that I loved the fact that part of the action takes place in winter, more precisely around Christmas, my favorite holiday? How could I not love it, when everything is magical during that time?

I also mention that this time, Cristina’s artworks helped me a lot to visualize some scenes, and I stared at them for a good few minutes. I wonder how this series would look like if it were a comic strip or maybe a TV series… I think I would read and watch them continuously without getting tired.

This volume was like this: one warm, one cold, if on one page you laughed at a comic situation, on the next page the action hit you hard and completely turned you upside down, not knowing what to believe and what to do. I admit, I started reading with fear, and when I turned the page, I expected something I didn’t want to happen and tears to come, because yes… I cried reading this volume, Cristina played with my emotions and made me suffer, terribly sometimes, and I’m really worried about what will come in the last volume of the tetralogy, honestly.

Old friendships are renewed, support is found unexpectedly, and small love stories unfold… or at least that’s the feeling I had from the first pages.

A volume full of plot twists, betrayals, scenes that surprise or make you admire the characters, unusual friendships are formed and mutual respect is gained, with sweat on the forehead, literally, dangers at every step, impulsive and last-minute decisions, conflicting feelings and restless thoughts, affectionate gestures that melt your heart, but also numerous acts of friendship that demonstrate how strong a friendship can become. A volume where unexpected sacrifices have to be made, in the name of love and more…

Leave a comment