“La maestra de las sombras” by C.A.Todorova (review)

• Title: “La maestra de las sombras:

• Author: C.A. Todorova

• Series: “El principe heredero”

• Volume: II

• Publishing house: Circulo Rojo

• Publishing year: 2023

• Number of pages: 881

The action in ‘La maestra de las sombras’ takes place two years after the events of the first volume of the ‘El principe heredero’ series, and it was a delight to return to the universe, but also a challenge to continue reading in Spanish. It took me a little while to get used to it, but then it went smoothly. 😊

A new member, Valikia, joined them, and small tensions arose within the group. The first hints of jealousy were felt, and although I’m not a fan of jealousy, I confess I was thrilled to follow the characters’ turmoil and rejoiced when they found the courage to express their feelings. And it wasn’t just jealousy that was felt, but also feelings of doubt, that alpha element specific to certain species, which is hard to control when two different yet equally powerful characters clash. A little competition, I might say, making the group’s adventure even more exciting than it already is. Valikia wasn’t the only new character introduced into the story, there were others as well, some of which had a stronger impact on the story, while others had a smaller, but memorable role.

One scene that stucked with me and that I won’t forget anytime soon, don’t worry, it’s not a spoiler, was the one between Caedra and Valikia arguing. Imagine two roosters, one more determined than the other… well, those roosters were Caedra and Valikia, I’ll leave the picture below for you to see why I had that image in my mind…

The relationship between Jay and Caedra became stronger, which warmed my heart. Their support for each other always being there melted me, and the connection Caedra formed with Alastair, a new character who intrigued me to the max and whom I couldn’t wait to learn more about, was more than a pleasant surprise. Not only did the relationship between Jay and Cai solidify very well, but also with the other characters, each forming close relationships with the others, becoming like a family, and this delighted me.

I liked that I also had small glimpses into the characters’ pasts, their memories, so I could get to know them better, understand their feelings and observe how they were viewed by other characters, as well as how other characters saw themselves through their eyes. It seemed to me that this volume focused on solid character building and strengthening relationships between them, but I also didn’t encounter any events that left me feeling stuck or confused.

The fact that I had the artworks created by the author helped me immensely in forming a much broader idea of the appearance of the new characters introduced into the story, and I can’t explain to you the excitement I felt when I realized I guessed who the illustrated characters were. Such a cool feeling and at the same time an accomplishment, because somehow, I had anticipated who those characters were and I was glad that my attention was rewarded, but also that the details provided by the author did their job very well.

In addition to these, there were a lot of scenes where my heart raced or where I felt like I was going crazy with nerves, witnessing what was happening, and, oh, what I would have done to those involved! I went through all possible and impossible emotions, and I have a feeling this is just the beginning. The fight scenes were so intense and vivid that I felt like I was participating in them alongside the characters. I felt every effort they made to succeed, and the dangers they were exposed to… Cristina, give them a little break!!!”

There was no shortage of plot twists, dangers, lies, betrayals from unexpected sources, alliances, also unexpected but welcome, numerous unravelled secrets, and a plot that didn’t hesitate to pleasantly surprise me with each chapter read. I am both excited and fearful for what Cristina has prepared for the next volumes…

Leave a comment